« Back to News

Shirley Henry Receives 2018 BC Community Achievement Award

Posted on April 03, 2018

Media Release from the BC Achievement Foundation:

March 29, 2018

2018 BC Community Achievers Announced

VANCOUVER – Premier John Horgan and Scott McIntyre, CM, Chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, today named this year’s recipients of the BC Community Achievement Awards, marking the 15th offering of these awards.

“The dedication and generosity of British Columbians like these make our communities great places to live,” said Premier John Horgan. “Thanks to the 2018 recipients for helping build a better British Columbia for us all.”

“We are very proud to be able to honour 25 extraordinary British Columbians whose dedication contributes to the health and wellbeing of our province,” said McIntyre. “We thank them all for their remarkable contributions as both volunteers and engaged citizens.”

The recipients of the 2018 awards are:
Kevin Albers, Victoria
Joyce Babula, Gabriola Island
Lolly Bennett, Vancouver
Sukhi Brar, Abbotsford
Margo Dent, Squamish
Chris Gadsden, Chilliwack
Patricia Grue, Stewart
Terri Hanen, Dawson Creek
Shirley Henry, Pemberton
Geraldine Hinton, Victoria
Doug Hopwood, Qualicum Beach
Jag Khosa, Surrey
Jim Lamond, Richmond
Paddy Macleod, West Vancouver
Jo Mitchell, Metchosin
Charles Newton, Granisle
Mary O’Neill, Coquitlam
Jerrilyn Schembri, Tumbler Ridge
Aart Schuurman Hess, Vancouver
Min Sidhu, Vernon
Jeff Swann, Ucluelet
Lisa Tallio, Bella Coola
Kim van der Woerd, West Vancouver
Pete Wise, Coldstream
Andy Yu, Vancouver

An independent committee selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2018 selection committee members are Mayor Lyn Hall of Prince George, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and past recipients, Garry F. Benson, QC of Kelowna, Karen Gilmore of Vancouver and David Young of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2018 awards will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony at Government House in Victoria on April 25, 2018. Each recipient will receive a certificate, and a medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson, OC.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of BC to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the BC Community Achievement Awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the BC Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, BC’s National
Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the BC Creative Achievement Award for First Nations Art, and the BC Indigenous Business Awards.


Cathryn Wilson
Executive Director
BC Achievement Foundation
Nora Newlands
604 618-6949
Learn more about the BC Achievement Foundation at: www.bcachievement.com

Get updated with our newsletter