Municipal Council Election

The Village of Pemberton is governed by a Council of five elected officials: one Mayor and four Councillors. Council operates at policy level and delegates day-to-day operations through the Chief Administrative Officer, to Village staff.

In B.C., general local elections are held every four years and are governed by the  Community Charter and the Local Government Act.

The next local election will be held in 2022. Eligible voters will elect one mayor, four councillors, and one school trustee for School District 48.

Voting may be held at other times for a by-election, to fill a vacancy, or to respond to a referendum question.

For more information on general local elections, please see General Local Elections 101

Important Dates

The General Local Election Calendar outlines the key dates for the 2022 General Local Election in B.C.

*updated information will be provided in the Summer of 2022

Election Period January 1 - September 16, 2022
Nomination Period August 30 to September 9th at 4PM
Campaign Period September 17 - October 15, 2022
Advance Voting Day Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Second Advance Voting Day Wednesday, October 12, 2022
General Voting Day Saturday, October 15, 2022
Deadline for filing Campaign Financing Disclosure Statements 90 days after general local election day



Local governments may use a referendum to obtain the approval of electors for a proposed bylaw, agreement or other matter when required or authorized to do so under the Local Government Act or Community Charter.

A referendum is conducted in the same manner as an election. Electors register at time of voting and cast their vote on a ballot usually in a form of a "yes" or "no" question.

Many of the rules & regulations that apply to municipal council elections also apply to referendums. 

Non-Election Assent Voting.

Alternative Approvals Process (AAP)

Section 84 of the Community Charter contains the provisions for elector approval. If electors' approval is required under the Community Charter or Local Government Act in relation to a particular matter, that approval may be obtained either by assent of the electors (i.e., a referendum vote), or by alternative approval process (AAP). The alternative approval process is a less expensive method of obtaining elector assent.

The municipality obtains approval of the electors through the alternative approval process if fewer than 10% of eligible electors in the area covered by the alternate approval process submit elector response forms. By signing the alternative approval response forms an elector expresses his/her opposition to the particular matter being proposed by the municipality. If more than 10% of eligible electors sign the response forms, the municipality must seek a vote in order to proceed with the matter.

Alternative Approval Process

Election Contacts

Each local government is responsible for running its own local elections, referendums and alternative approval processes in accordance with provincial laws. Council has appointed the Manager of Corporate & Legislative Services as the Village's Chief Election Officer and the Legislative Assistant and Receptionist as Deputy Chief Election Officers. The role of the Chief Election Officer and Deputy Chief Election Officers is to ensure the processes are run in accordance with the Village's General Local Government Election Procedures Bylaw and the Local Government Act.

Chief Election Officer

Sheena Fraser, Manager of Corporate & Legislative Services
Office Hours Telephone: 604-894-6135 ext 228
Email Sheena

Elections B.C.


Ministry of Municipal Affairs & Housing – Local Elections

Ministry of Education – School Trustee Elections